Process occurring as part of the eukaryotic cell cycle. In mitosis, chromosomes in the cell nucleus separate into two identical chromosome sets, the two sets are separated, and two independent nuclei form, each with its own set of chromosomes matching that of the parent nucleus. Mitosis consists of five stages: prophase, prometaphase, metaphase, anaphase, and telophase.

Sign in or register

For an ad-free experience and access the Visionlearning Classroom, sign in or register.